‘Joyland’ nominated for Independent Spirit Awards’ film category Pipa News

‘Joyland’ nominated for Independent Spirit Awards’ film category

Lahore: Sam Sadiq’s “Joyland” will go up against Alice Diop’s Saint Omer, Martika Ramirez Escobar’s Leonor Will Never Die, Mary Kreutzer’s Corsairs and Davy Chow’s Return to Seoul.

The film, which is currently running in Pakistan, will be tackled by Corsairs by Marie Kreutzer, Leonor Will Never Die by Martika Ramirez Escobar, Return to Seoul by Davy Chow, and Saint Omer by Alice Diop.

Director Jamie Lee Curtis, Michelle Yeoh, Kay Hui Kwan, Stephanie Hsu, and Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert’s Everywhere Everywhere All Once, starring Michelle Yeoh, Kay Hui Kwan, and Stephanie Hsu, with eight nominations for Best Feature Got first place. Best Director, Best Lead Performance, Best Supporting Performance by Curtis and Best Breakthrough Performance by Quan, Best Screenplay and Best Editing.

With seven nominations, Todd Field’s “Tar” and Charlotte Wells’ “Aftersun” were right behind their film.

One of the major achievements of Sadiq’s “Joyland” is that it was Pakistan’s first entry at the Cannes Film Festival and won the Jury Prize for the Un Certain Regard category. Additionally, it won the Best Film award at the Melbourne Indian Film Festival, and most recently, was chosen as Pakistan’s official Oscar entry, “Joyland”.

The story of the Ranas, a middle-class family with strict and patriarchal family values, is told in the Lahore-set film. When the family’s youngest son, Haider (Ali Junejo), joins a dance company and develops feelings for transgender dancer Biba (Alina Khan), these ideals are torn apart. The film also stars Sania Saeed, Sohail Sameer, Rusty Farooq, Salman Peerzada and Sarwat Geelani.

People in Pakistan were divided over “Joyland” as they felt it contained “objectionable” content. It was initially declared illegal by the Central Board of Film Censors and later overturned by a Prime Minister-appointed committee.

The Independent Spirit Awards will take place on March 4, 2023 in California, US.

Most Popular

Most Popular