New Zealand won the toss against India in the 1st ODI, decided to field; Arshdeep, Umran debut Pipa News

New Zealand won the toss against India in the 1st ODI, decided to field; Arshdeep, Umran debut

aucklandNew Zealand captain Kane Williamson won the toss and elected to field in the first match of the three-match ODI series against India at Eden Park on Friday.

Opener Shikhar Dhawan will lead the team in the absence of other senior players like Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul. The Men in Blue won the rain-affected three-match T20I series 1-0. On the other hand, the Kiwis have left out Trent Boult and Martin Guptill – two experienced campaigners. Adam Milne, who last played an ODI in October 2017, is likely to make it into the playing XI.

The seaming and swinging conditions in New Zealand give the Indian side a good opportunity to test their skills in tough conditions in the T20I series.

Arshdeep Singh and Umran Malik are making their ODI debut in the first ODI against New Zealand in Auckland.

Speaking at the toss, New Zealand captain Kane Williamson said, “We’re going to bowl first. New surface and some unknowns. Most teams will have a lot of ODI cricket now. Each game is an opportunity to build One side. It’s unique, there have been so many great games here. People are looking forward to this series. We are going with 4 seamers – Lockie, Milne, Southee and Matt Henry along with Santner.” Speaking at the toss, India captain Shikhar Dhawan said, “It’s an amazing place, I enjoy playing here. No problem batting first, I would have bowled first. I think the wicket is a bit sticky.” But the sun is out and it should dry up soon. With this team, we have played a few series before as well. This is a good opportunity for all the youngsters to perform and show their talent. We have got Indians from all over and they keep supporting us, we are grateful for that. We have 2 debutants – Arshdeep Singh and Umran Malik.” New Zealand (Playing XI): Finn Allen, Devon Conway, Kane Williamson(c), Tom Latham(w), Daryl Mitchell, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Adam Milne, Matt Henry, Tim Southee, Lockie Ferguson India (Playing XI): Shikhar Dhawan (c), Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (w), Sanju Samson, Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Umran Malik, Arshdeep Singh and Yuzvendra Chahal.

(To receive our e-paper daily on WhatsApp, please click here. To receive it on Telegram, please click here. We allow PDF of the paper to be shared on WhatsApp and other social media platforms. )


Most Popular

Most Popular