HomeBuisnessSouth Africa secured a historic win over Australia for the first time...
- Advertisment -

South Africa secured a historic win over Australia for the first time PiPa News

- Advertisment -

South Africa secured a historic win over Australia for the first time

South Africa wrote history with a memorable six-wicket win over Australia in the second T20I at the Manuka Oval in Canberra, marking their first ever victory over the reigning world champions in any form of the game. .

Chasing a target of 143, the Proteas achieved victory with six balls to spare, finishing at 144 for four. Captain Laura Wolvaardt played an important innings, remained unbeaten on 58 runs and got the player of the match title.

Wolvaardt hailed his team’s outstanding performance, expressing pride in their performance against a formidable Australian side. South Africa’s opening duo, Wolvaardt and Tazmin Brits, gave a solid start to a partnership that included well-executed shots and boundaries.

The Proteas reached their 50 in the seventh over, with Wolvaardt on 19 and Brits on 31. Leaving the Brits on 75, a running overhead catch from Georgia Wareham, paved the way for Marizanne Kapp to join the Wolvaardt in the middle.

Despite Kapp’s strikeout and a minor setback, Wolvaardt, along with freshman batter Chloe Tryon, secured a stylish win. Wolvaardt’s unbeaten 58, supported by Tryon’s 4 runs, sealed the historic victory. Australia’s Ash Gardner claimed two wickets for 26.

In the first innings, Australia faced few challenges as Ayabonga Khaka dropped a catch in the second, giving Beth Mooney a lifeline. However, Australia lost wickets at regular intervals, and a mini-collapse saw them at 93 for five. Gardner’s departure marked the sixth wicket, and the late partnership between Harris and Wareham increased the respectability of Australia’s total.

The final match of the series is scheduled for January 30 at Bellerive Oval in Hobart, with the three-match ODI series starting on February 3 at Adelaide Oval in Adelaide.


South Africa: Laura Wolvaardt (capt), Tazmin Brits, Marizanne Kapp, Anneke Bosch, Sun Luus, Chloe Tryon, Nadine De Klerk, Sinalo Jafta, Nonkululeko Mlaba, Masabata Class, Ayabonga Khaka.

Australia: Alyssa Healy (capt), Beth Mooney, Tahlia McGrath, Ellyse Perry, Ash Gardner, Phoebe Litchfield, Grace Harris, Annabel Sutherland, Georgia Wareham, Heather Graham, Megan Schutt.

Main Image: Everyday Maverick

- Advertisment -

Most Popular